One Thousand Moons

Did you know that there will be approximately 1000 new moons during your lifetime?

I came across this concept when attending an Eddie Soloway photography workshop in Santa Fe.  I had admired Eddie’s work for quite some time and his artistic interpretations of our natural world have been inspirational to me in developing my photographic seeing eye.

Eddie shared his story with us of how he had estimated, that if he was lucky, that he would see 1000 new moons during his lifetime and had decided to celebrate these moons as markings of time.  Some of his celebrations have included walking through fog-filled cornfields in the hill country of western Wisconsin, walking in moonlit alleys in Chicago and watching the new moon over Lake Michigan.  After our workshop he was planning to celebrate the next new moon with his son somewhere special on the west coast.

Super Moon in the Everglades

“Supermoon In The Everglades”    © Sue Thomson 2012

Santa Fe is an amazing desert town in New Mexico, with gorgeous adobe buildings and thousands of art galleries.  It is the third largest art market in the USA and I was privileged to wander through galleries such as Verve, the Monroe Gallery, the Georgia O’Keefe Museum and the Andrew Smith Gallery where I viewed beautiful Ansel Adams prints.  I didnt quite have the cash for an Ansel but I did purchase a series of postcards which I have displayed above my computer and provide inspiration to seek photographic excellence.

The workshop in Santa Fe was fantastic and holds extra special memories for me as I met three amazing ladies who live in different parts of the USA and have since become great friends and continue to be an important part of my photographic journey.   It was held on the site of a Carmelite nunnery which was kinda cool, and a travel experience to be savoured and treasured!

It is a new moon tonight.  Where will you be?  Will the passing of time for this new moon be memorable for you?

Carmelite Monastery Cross

“Immaculate Heart of Mary Seminary Cross”    © Sue Thomson 2011

Follow Getaway Images:  Facebook     Blog   Website

Leave a Reply

