30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 1

The eminent Dr Seuss said: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

I launched Getaway Images earlier this year so I could showcase and share my travel and landscape images from around the world.  I have been writing a travel blog for some time now, but I have to fess up, I think I really suck at writing.  The magic words haven’t been flowing as easy as I would like them to.  The original goal of the blog was to entertain, inspire others to travel to new places, or become familiar and rediscover and enjoy places close to home.

So far, I have attracted all of 11 followers.  I am sure though, that these fabulous 11 folk breathlessly await each of my posts.  My blogs have been sporadic, which is a big naughty in blogging world.  A big shout out and thank you to my followers for their support!

Social media is awash with a mass of interesting, but also time wasting information which screams for our attention in our busy time-poor lives.  I am just another mere traveller with stories to tell, pictures to see, and one of many trillions of bloggers in the world.

I have been wondering lately what it takes to stand out in the crowd and this is one of the reasons that I have signed up to the 30 Day Blog Challenge.  I am hoping it helps to inspire me to be a kick-butt blog writer and to help me make my blog one that you cant wait to arrive in your email box and read!

Secretly I also dream of being a full time traveller.  I would have no qualms of ditching the mortgage and the suburban home if I could find a way to travel the world and earn enough to get by and enjoy life.  My 20 minute train trip commuting to the city each day is filled with thoughts of “what if I could get off this treadmill and enjoy doing the things that I really love”.  I am sure that you may have had similar thoughts.

My Place2

“Somewhere In The World”   © Sue Thomson 2012

Now, getting back to the uber cool Dr Seuss……a lot of wisdom is found in his books that both children and adults enjoy and love.   “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself, any direction you choose”.   And so I shall!

I wont be writing a blog each day and boring you senseless, but I do hope the challenge will provide an opportunity to learn and share new things and to get my blog singing like a canary.  I hope that you join me in the journey to awesomeness and enjoy the upcoming blogs.

Sign Up to Getaway Images Blog

Follow Getaway Images on Facebook

Leave a Reply

